View Larger Map

Luzon, Philippines

Luzon is the largest island in the Philippines. It is located in the northernmost region of the archipelago, and is also the name for one of the three primary island groups in the country centered on the Island of Luzon (the other two being the Visayas and Mindanao).

Luzon as an island group includes the island of Luzon itself, plus the Batanes and Babuyan groups of islands to the north, and the main and outlying islands of Catanduanes, Marinduque, Masbate, Romblon, and Mindoro in the south. Luzon is the economic and political center of the Philippines, being home to the country's capital city, Manila.

Luzon's area is 104,688 square kilometers, making it the world's 17th largest island. It is the fifth most populated island in the world. Located on Luzon are the country's capital, Manila, and its most populated city, Quezon City.

The island is very mountainous and is home to Mount Pulag, the third highest mountain in the country and Mount Pinatubo, Mayon, and Taal Volcano, Luzon's most famous volcanoes.

The economy of the island is centered in Metro Manila with Makati City serving as the main economic hub. Major companies such as Ayala, SM Group, and Metrobank are based in the business districts of Makati, Ortigas Center, and Bonifacio Global City.

Industry is concentrated in and around the urban areas of Metro Manila while agriculture predominates in the other regions of the island producing crops such as rice, bananas, mangoes, coconuts, pineapple, and coffee. Other sectors include livestock, tourism, mining, and fishing.

The people of Luzon belong to the Filipino people, and are divided into several ethnolinguistic groups. These groups inhabit different areas of the island. Ilocanos predominate in the northern portion of Ilocos and the region of Cagayan Valley, Pangasinense primarily inhabit Pangasinan, while the Kapampangans primarily live in Pampanga, Tarlac and the rest of Central Luzon.

Almost all of the languages of Luzon belong to the Borneo–Philippines group of the Malayo-Polynesian language branch of the Austronesian language family. Major regional languages include: Tagalog, Ilocano, Kapampangan, Bicol, and Pangasinense. English is also used by many inhabitants.

Luzon is served by 4 international airports; 1 is the country's main gateway, 1 is for low-cost airlines and the remaining 2 are minor international airports.

Ninoy Aquino International Airport is the Philippine's premier gateway to the country, it is the busiest airport in the country and is the 44th most busiest in the world. Philippine Airlines; the country's flag carrier, Cebu Pacific; the country's low-cost airline, Asiana Airlines,from Korea,Emirates, KLM, NWA, Cathay Pacific, Singapore Airlines and QANTAS are just some of the major carriers that operate in this airport.

Transportation: Taxis are always available in the major cities such as Manila and Davao. In the smaller cities and provinces, the public jeepney is good for travel on main roads and routes while tricycles are bettr for specific destinations on minor roads. In Metro Manila, there is public transport via the LRT and MRT train. To get to places such as Baguio, Calamba , Bicol, Laoag and other places on Luzon, there are numerous bus companies that depart from different parts of Manila. 

Nearby sites to visit:


Banaue and Batad - famed rice terraces

Corregidor Island - tour from Manila

Pagudpud - white beach

Pangasinan - Hundred islands

Sagada - beautiful hikes, hanging coffins and the tremendous Simigang Cave

Subic - beaches and special economic zone

Tagaytay - Taal Volcano, the smallest volcano in the world

Vigan - Spanish colonial town

Albay - home of the almost perfectly-cone shaped volcano Mayon volcano


Apply to  Become a Fleeamerica Location Representative in your locale.  

Thank you for visiting

Overview of Luzon

Overview of LuzonLuzon is the largest of the Philippines' 3 primary island groups, and the most important, economically and politically. The capital city, Manila, is located in central Luzon, and is approximately 55 km northwest from Tagaytay City, in southern Luzon. The island is roughly retangular in shape, oriented in a north-south direction. Luzon's coastline is more than 5,000 km (3,000 miles) long.At 40,420 sq mi (104,688 sq km), Luzon is the 17th largest island in the world with its highest elevation at 2,922 m (9,587 ft). It is also the most populous island with a population 46,228,000 (as of 2007). 

Philippine Vacation
12 Wonders of Philippines
Syndicate content